Octopus intelligent go and home automation

I am new to this. I am on octopus Intelligent go and am wondering how much control I can over my system given that Octopus now has control of my battery. Is it possible to install home assistant to add more control. Appreciate any clarification on this point

If you are on intelligent Go then Octopus does not have control of your battery. It is a basic tariff with the possibility of having additional cheap slits at Octopus’s discretion.

Are you actually on Intelligent Flux, where you cede control of your battery to Octopus? If so then HA will be of little use to you in controlling your system, though it may be helpful in reporting.

If you actually are on Intelligent Go, then the world is your oyster! The ultimate geek toy atm is Predbat. Have a look at the online manual, but here’s a summary:

Predbat takes in as input

• your system setup (inverter(s) size, battery(ies) size, etc), often grabbed using the GivTCP integration
  • your import and export tariffs (for many using the excellent BottleCapDave Octopus integration)
  • a solar forecast, typically from Solcast
  • your historical usage over the recent past, hour by hour, from HA
  • details of your electric car, if any
  • any other over-riding factors (eg Octopus Power-ups, Octopus Saving Sessions (it will auto-opt-in to these), holidays)
  • a whole raft of parameters, which are used to change the weightings of the above in its determination of its outputs

The outputs are

• predicted load (based on historic usage patterns)
  • predicted solar generation (based on Solcast, with the ability to be more conservative)
  • a plan of when to charge/discharge in order to maximise income/minimise cost over the next [24] hours
  • the ability to take control of your system and implement that plan (for Givenergy and a few other systems)